●●● GRATIS KOERIER AFLEWERING OP BESTELLINGS BO R450 ●●●

Soek resultate: Heather Morris

Results 1 to 8 of 8
Gesorteer volgens:  Publikasiedatum
Klik om te vergroot
Klik om te vergroot
9781838775506

Fiction: Novels

Fiction  -  Novels
R 320
From international bestselling author Heather Morris comes the breath-taking conclusion to The Tattooist of Auschwitz trilogy.
When they are girls, Cibi, Magda and Livia make a promise to their father - that they will stay together, no matter what. Years later, at just 15 years old, Livia is ordered to Auschwitz by the Nazis. Cibi, only 19 herself, remembers their promise and follows Livia, determined to protect her sister, or die with her. In their hometown in Slovakia, 17-year-old Magda hides, desperate to evade the barbaric Nazi forces. But it is not long before she is captured and condemned to Auschwitz.

In the horror of the death camp, these three beautiful sisters are reunited. Though traumatised by their experiences, they are together.

They make another promise: that they will live. Their fight for survival takes them from the hell of Auschwitz, to a death march across war-torn Europe and eventually home to Slovakia, now under iron Communist rule. Determined to begin again, they embark on a voyage of renewal, to the new Jewish homeland, Israel.

Rich in vivid detail, and beautifully told, Three Sisters will break your heart but leave you amazed and uplifted by the courage and fierce love of three sisters, whose promise to each other kept them alive. Two of the sisters are in Israel today, surrounded by family and friends. They have chosen Heather Morris to reimagine their story in her astonishing new novel, Three Sisters.
Publikasiedatum: 2021-10-15
Klik om te vergroot
Klik om te vergroot
9781785769054

Fiction: Novels

Fiction  -  Novels
R 220
Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is taken to Auschwitz-Birkenau Concentration Camp in 1942, where the commandant immediately notices how beautiful she is. Forcibly separated from the other women prisoners, Cilka learns quickly that power, even unwillingly taken, equals survival. When the war is over and the camp is liberated, freedom is not granted to Cilka: she is charged as a collaborator for sleeping with the enemy and sent to a Siberian prison camp. But did she really have a choice? And where do the lines of morality lie for Cilka, who was sent to Auschwitz when she was still a child?
Publikasiedatum: 2021-01-11
Geen voorblad
9780000009016

Nie-fiksie / Non-fiction: Algemeen / General

Nie-fiksie / Non-fiction  -  Algemeen / General
R 505
Publikasiedatum: 2020-12-15
Klik om te vergroot
Klik om te vergroot
9781786580498

Nie-fiksie / Non-fiction: Populêre Sielkunde / Popular Psychology

Nie-fiksie / Non-fiction  -  Populêre Sielkunde / Popular Psychology
R 315
The first non-fiction book from the author of international bestselling novels The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Cilka's Journey.
In Stories Of Hope, Heather Morris will explore the art of listening - a skill she employed when she first met Lale Sokolov, the Tattooist of Auschwitz. It was her ability to listen that led Lale to entrust Heather with his story, which she told as the novel The Tattooist Of Auschwitz. Now she shares her story of how she learned to listen.

Heather grew up on a farm in rural New Zealand. On her way back across the paddocks from school, she would visit her great-grandfather and listen to his experiences of war - stories he told only Heather. From a very young age, she learned that people would share their most sacred and intimate stories with her, if she stopped and listened to them. Stories Of Hope will examine and explore Heather's journey, in the form of a series of tales of the remarkable people she has met, the extraordinary stories they have shared with her, and the lessons they hold for us all.
Publikasiedatum: 2020-09-17
Klik om te vergroot
Klik om te vergroot

VERSKAFFER UIT VOORRAAD UIT

9781785769139

Fiction: Novels

Fiction  -  Novels
R 305
Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is taken to Auschwitz-Birkenau Concentration Camp, in 1942. The Commandant at Birkenau, Schwarzhuber, notices her long beautiful hair, and forces her separation from the other women prisoners. Cilka learns quickly that power, even unwillingly given, equals survival. In a Siberian prison camp, Cilka faces challenges both new and horribly familiar, including the unwanted attention of the guards. But when she makes an impression on a woman doctor, Cilka is taken under her wing and taught new skills. Cilka begins to tend to the ill in the camp, struggling to care for them under brutal conditions. And when she nurses a man called Ivan, Cilka finds that despite everything that has happened to her, there is room in her heart for love.
Publikasiedatum: 2019-09-30
Klik om te vergroot
Klik om te vergroot
9781785763670

Fiction: Novels

Fiction  -  Novels
R 200
In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too.

So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the true love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz.
Publikasiedatum: 2019-06-28
Klik om te vergroot
Klik om te vergroot
9781471408496

Children: Fiction teens

Children  -  Fiction teens
R 190
Young Adult edition - including new foreword and Q+A by the author plus further additional material

The incredible bestselling true story. For readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Diary of Anne Frank

Heart-breaking - a tale of love and survival amidst the horrors of Auschwitz
Human - the real story behind one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust - the blue numbers tattooed on prisoners' arms
Inspirational - the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances
Unforgettable - a story untold for over seventy years is finally shared
Life-affirming - one man's determination to survive and live a full life with the woman he loved
Fully verified - Lale Sokolov's background and story has been fact-checked against all available documentary evidence
Publikasiedatum: 2019-05-23
Klik om te vergroot
Klik om te vergroot

VERSKAFFER UIT VOORRAAD UIT

9781785763656

Fiction: Novels

Fiction  -  Novels
R 280
For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. Based on the incredible true story of Lale Sokolov.

The Tattooist of Auschwitz is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, two Slovakian Jews, who survived Auschwitz and eventually made their home in Australia. In that terrible place, Lale was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - literally scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Lale used the infinitesimal freedom of movement that this position awarded him to exchange jewels and money taken from murdered Jews for food to keep others alive. If he had been caught he would have been killed; many owed him their survival.

There have been many books about the Holocaust - and there will be many more.

What makes this one so memorable is Lale Sokolov's incredible zest for life. He understood exactly what was in store for him and his fellow prisoners and he was determined to survive - not just to survive, but to leave the camp with his dignity and integrity intact, to live his life to the full. Terrible though this story is, it is also a story of hope and of courage. It is also - almost unbelievably - a love story. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight and he determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure that Gita did, too. His story - their story - will make you weep, but you will also find it uplifting. It show s the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances.

Like many survivors, Lale and Gita told few people their story after the war. They eventually made their way to Australia, where they raised a son and had a successful life. But when Gita died, Lale felt he could no longer carry the burden of their past alone. He chose to tell his story.
Publikasiedatum: 2018-02-19

© All Rights Reserved 2018
A Product of CEIT Development
Koop Afrikaanse en Engelse boeke aanlyn en spaar tot 20% op Nuwe Vrystellings, Topverkopers en Engelse algemene publikasies. Graffiti vir nuwe boeke, topverkopers, opvoedkundige boeke, Christelike boeke en winskopies. Kry ook jou Moleskine Joernaal hier teen 20% afslag.Buy Afrikaans and English books online and save up to 20% on Afrikaans New Releases and Bestsellers, as well as on English general publications. Graffiti for new releases, bestsellers, Christian books, educational books and bargains. Stockist of Moleskine Journals.